ESC 2014 initial deadline approaches – Greece given extra time

Koza Mostra green room

Koza Mostra, the Greek representatives 2013 waiting for the results in Malmö | Picture: EBU

Friday, November 22nd will be the initial deadline for EBU member broadcasters to apply for Eurovision Song Contest 2014. The eventual list of participants will be confirmed by EBU in early 2014 so changes are still possible. If any country decides to withdraw after the final deadline, they must pay a fine.

So far we know that Portugal will return while Croatia and Cyprus have decided not to take part. Meanwhile, we are still waiting for announcements from Poland and Bosnia-Herzegovina on whether they will return or not. The Turkish broadcaster TRT keeps boycotting the contest.

EBU gives Greece more time

The Greek national broadcaster ERT was shut down previously this year and its successor was established a couple of months ago. The EBU membership didn’t automatically transfer to this new broadcaster which means that in order to participate Eurovision, this new broadcaster must first be accepted to EBU. Therefore EBU has given more time for Greece to make it sure that they could still enter the contest.


One response to “ESC 2014 initial deadline approaches – Greece given extra time

  1. Pingback: Switzerland: RSI chose its candidates | ESC Webs - Latest Eurovision News·

Comments are closed.