Malta picks 20 semi-finalists

Malta Eurovision

As per usual, the Maltese broadcaster tonight revealed who the 20 semi-finalists are on Xarabank, a popular local television show. Despite a record-breaking number of 210 songs were received, TVM decided to decrease the semi-finalists from the usual 24 to 20. Therefore there will also be slightly less finalists – 14 instead of 16.

One of the following 20 will be representing Malta at Eurovision 2014:

  • Some Kind of Wonderful – Wayne William  (Wayne Micallef)
  • City Lady – Ryan Paul Abela (Paul Abela, Joe Julian Farrugia)
  • Brand New Day – Davinia (Elton Zarb, Matt Mercieca)
  • Let The Sunshine In – Sophie (Sophie DeBattista, Adam Pakard, Alex Dew)
  • Hypnotica – Jessika (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
  • Invisible – Raquel Galdes (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
  • One Last Ride – Daniel Testa (Stephen Rudden, Lawrence Peter Bridge)
  • Pin The Middle – Debbie Stivala (Peter Paul Galea, Debbie Stivala)
  • Oblivion – Chris Grech (Philip Vella, Gerard James Borg)
  • Until We Meet Again – Deborah C (Matt Mercieca, Elton Zarb)
  • Because I Have You – Amber (Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
  • Lovetricity – Christabelle (Magnus Kaxe, Gerard James Borg)
  • Coming Home – Firelight (Richard Micallef)
  • Safe – Miriam Christine (Mark Scicluna, Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Addictive – Romina Mamo (Ylva, Linda Persson)
  • Now and Forever – Andreana (Vinny Vella, Karl Spiteri)
  • Love Will Take Me Home – Franklin (Glen, Beatrice Eriksson, M Frenell, Michael J Down)
  • Ten – Corazon (Paul Giordimaina, Fleur Balzan)
  • Take Me – Pamela (Boris Cezek)
  • Just No Place Like Home – Fabrizio Faniello (Johan Bejerholm)

In addition to the audience, also a jury panel of six members will rate the songs in the televised shows. Semi-final will be held on February 7th while the final takes place the next day – February 8th.