Finland: UMK participants presented!

UMK 2014 participants

Yle has kept the Eurovision fans in suspense over the last weeks as the broadcaster has published some detail pictures of the 12 UMK finalists. Now Yle put an end to the speculations and revealed the finalists, one of them will represent Finland in Copenhagen!

The press conference was shown live online and the participants were presented one by one. Here they are:

  • Lauri Mikkola – Going Down
  • MIAU – God/Drug
  • Clarissa feat. Josh – Top of The World
  • MadCraft – Shining Bright
  • Mikko Pohjola – Sängyn reunalla
  • Jasmin Michaela – Kertakäyttösydän
  • Hukka ja Mama – Selja
  • Hanna Sky – Hope
  • MAKEA – Painovoima
  • Dennis Fagerström – My Little Honey Bee
  • Softengine – Something Better
  • Lili Lambert – Let Me Take You There

Small clips of the songs are available on Yle website.

The first episode of UMK will be online already tonight and it will air on television on December 26th. In this show, the artists will be presented to the viewers. They will get on stage for the first time on December 28th and January 4th. First out of three live shows will air on January 11th.

The final will take place on February 1st. The venue will again be Barona Areena in Espoo, next to Helsinki. This arena can take up to 8,000 spectators and the 2013 UMK final was held there as well.

28.12. – The first six acts perform for the jury
4.1. – The last six acts perform for the jury
11.1. – Live show, first six compete, one qualifies directly for the final, one will be voted out
18.1. – Live show, last six compete, one qualifies directly for the final, one will be voted out
25.1. – Live show, eight compete and six will qualify for the final as voted by the audience
1.2. – Live show, the eight finalists compete, the winner is chosen by the judges together with the audience

Redrama, Toni Wirtanen, Aija Puurtinen and Tomi Saarinen will be judging the songs. The hosts are once again Ilkka Uusivuori and Anne Lainto.