Presenting the entries: Finland

Softengine (Finland)


Composers: Henri Oskár, Topi Latukka

Twitter | Facebook

Selection format

UMK was used as the Finnish pre-selection format for the third time. Submission period was opened right after the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest and it was closed in September.420 demos were received and the pre-selection jury picked the best ones for the jury to listen. The jury consisting of Redrama, Toni Wirtanen, Aija Puurtinen and Tomi Saarinen eventually chose 12 to compete in televised heats. They were divided into two semi-finals – four from each show qualified for the semi-final and one direct to the national final.

Afterall, eight acts were competing in the final, held in Espoo. The winner was chosen as a combination of jury votes and televotes.


Softengine is a Finnish band which consists of five members – Topi, Ossi, Henri, Eero and Tuomo. The band was formed in 2011. At the end of 2013 they decided to submit their self-composed entry ‘Something Better’. The song was ready within ten days because the deadline approached fast. It was all worth it as the band was accepted to compete in UMK and they won their pre-qualification heat, qualifying straight to the final.

The band names Coldplay, Linkin Park and Foo Fighters as their icons among others. Softengine signed a record contract with Sony in early 2014.