Presenting the entries: Belarus

TEO (Belarus)


Composers: Yury Vashchuk, Dmitry Novik

Twitter | Facebook

Selection format

In October, Belteleradiocompany called for songs for its pre-selection 2014. The deadline was set for November 24th and it was also announced that the national final would take place in January. More than 80 songs were received and the internal jury, among them was the 2013 representative Alyona Lanskaya, chose 15 of them to compete in the final. However, a few days later Alexey Gross was disqualified from the final because he had entered with the song that competed in the Maltese pre-selection already in 2011. The national final with 14 acts took place on January 10 and Teo was chosen to represent the country in Copenhagen. This time the song didn’t change – not even once!


Teo, aka Yuriy Vaschuk, wasn’t competing in the Belarusian national final for his first time. In 2009 he competed in duet with Anna Blagova but they failed to qualify for the final. The following year he was one of the composers behind 3+2’s original Eurovision entry ‘Far Away’. He has also co-written ‘All My Love’ and  ‘The Rhythm Of Love’ for Alyona Lanskaya.

Teo was born in 1983 and he has studied music at the Belarusian State University of Culture and Arts. At the age of seventeen he was taught by Mikhail Finberg, conductor of National Orchestra of Belarus. Later on, besides songwriting, he has also hosted a television program for Belarus 1.

He explains that the stage name Teo came up as a result of Google search and then he found Teo among the search results and liked it. Google was also mentioned in his Eurovision entry but because the EBU rules prohibit any commercial messages he was forced to change ‘Google Maps’ into ‘all the maps’.