Presenting the entries: Iceland

Pollapönk (Iceland)


Composers: Heidar Orn Kristjansson, Haraldur Freyr Gislason, John Grant


Selection format

RÚV opened the submission period for its pre-selection format Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins in September. By October 7th, 297 demos were received. 10 of them were chosen by the pre-selection jury to compete in two semi-finals. Two qualified from each show to the final and two more were chosen by the jury from among eliminated acts. Therefore a total of six acts competed in the final on February 15th.


The band was born in 2006 when the guitarists Haraldur Freyr Gislason and Heidar Orn Kristjansson were graduating as pre-school teachers. They recorded an album which was part of their final work. The album was more popular than thought and soon their music reached larger audience. Pollapönk aims to make music that both, adults and children like to listen to. Through they music they also want to spread important message – to stop bullying. On stage in Copenhagen the four members are joined by two ‘visitors’ – one of them is actually Member of the Icelandic Parliament. For Eurovision the band decided to translate their entry into English instead of Icelandic.