Ann Sophie to represent Germany despite not winning the final

Ann Sophie

The full booked TUI Arena in Hanover hosted the German national final on Thursday evening. Eight acts had made it to Unser Song für Österreich – seven were invited to take part by the broadcaster and the eighth one was the winner of the wildcard contest.

The final consisted of three rounds. In the first round, all eight acts performed their first song. The four most voted (Laing, Alexa Feser, Ann Sophie and Andreas Kümmert) qualified for the second round. Then, the qualifiers performed another songs. Each song had its own voting number. The two most voted songs qualified for superfinal where the winner was chosen. These two were Ann Sophie with ‘Black Smoke’ and Andreas Kümmert with ‘Heart of Stone’.

After the voting lines had been closed, the hostess Barbara Schöneberger announced the winner. The winner was Andreas Kümmert with the song ‘Heart of Stone’. However, right after the results were announced he refused to represent the country and handed out the Eurovision ticket to Ann Sophie. Therefore Ann Sophie represents Germany with ‘Black Smoke’ although finishing second in the final.