Presenting the entries: Finland

Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät1


Composers: Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät

Twitter | Facebook

Selection format

UMK returned once again but this time with a new format. The contest consisted of three semi-finals with three out of six acts qualifying for the final from each show. The nine finalists competed against each other in the final, held on February 28th. 90% of the power was in the hands of the audience while 10% was determined by a citizen jury. The jury consisted of for example Eurovision fans, taxi drivers, kids and LGBT people. The jury winner was Satin Circus but Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät received 36% of televotes and therefore won UMK 2015.

Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät

Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät is a punk band, formed back in 2009. The band members are mentally handicapped and they have gained national and international attention, especially after winning the Finnish Eurovision pre-selection. In 2009 the band’s first song and its music video was uploaded on YouTube. Ever since they have had over 200 gigs and also gigs in countries such as Norway, Netherlands and USA. A documentary film of the band was released in 2012 and it received multiple awards. PKN’s new album ‘The best of Greatest Hits’ will be released on Friday, May 8th. In Vienna, the band will break a new record as their entry will become the shortest Eurovision entry ever.