Sweden 2013




  • 14.5.2013 – Semi-Final One
  • 16.5.2013 – Semi-Final Two
  • 18.5.2013 – Grand Final


  • Three Swedish cities wanted to host the contest, Malmö, Stockholm and Gotheburg.
  • On June 20, city of Gothenburg announced they would withdraw from the host city 2013 competition because of Scandinavium Arena is booked for other events in late April when the arena should be handed over for EBU.
  • In early July, SVT announced that Malmö Arena will host the Eurovision 2013 at Malmö Arena which capacity is up to 15,000 seats.
  • Only one person will host the contest, SVT confirms. When the presenter will be presented is still unknown.
  • Advertising agency Happy Forsman & Bodenfors is responsible for this year’s graphical look, it will be something unique and differs from the last 57 editions of Eurovision Song Contest.
  • Whether the 2013 contest will have its own slogan or not is still an open issue. Continuum to “Share The Moment”, “Feel Your Heartbeat” and “Light Your Fire” is unsure but SVT’s ambition is to have a slogan.
  • On November 7, EBU announced that the Reference Group has decided that the host broadcaster SVT will decide the running order in the semi-finals and final. However, the Semi-final Allocation Draw will anyway take place on January 17 where it will be drawn in which semi-final countries are competing. Also the host country’s (Sweden) starting position in the final will be drawn.
  • The Semi-Final Allocation Draw took place on Thursday, January 17 at 14:00 CET. Countries were divided into two semi-finals and it was also drawn in which semi-final the Big5 and Sweden would vote in. The outcome can be found here.
  • Comedian Petra Mede was confirmed to host this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. She has hosted Melodifestivalen in 2009 and have had many television series in Sweden.
  • The stage design was presented in March after the Heads of Delegations meeting. What’s different is that this year LED screens are replaced by projectors.
  • The semi-final running order was determined by the producers and revealed on March 28th.


39 broadcasters have officially applied for Eurovision Song Contest 2013. The running order for the semi-finals can be seen below.

Semi-Final 1, 14.5.2013

  1. Austria
  2. Estonia
  3. Slovenia
  4. Croatia
  5. Denmark
  6. Russia
  7. Ukraine
  8. The Netherlands
  9. Montenegro
  10. Lithuania
  11. Belarus
  12. Moldova
  13. Ireland
  14. Cyprus
  15. Belgium
  16. Serbia

UK, Sweden, Italy voting in this semi-final

Semi-Final 2, 16.5.2013

  1. Latvia
  2. San Marino
  3. F.Y.R. Macedonia
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Finland
  6. Malta
  7. Bulgaria
  8. Iceland
  9. Greece
  10. Israel
  11. Armenia
  12. Hungary
  13. Norway
  14. Albania
  15. Georgia
  16. Switzerland
  17. Romania

France, Germany, Spain voting in this semi-final

As we know, Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT), Portugal (RTP) and Slovakia (STV) decided not to compete in 2013 due to countries’ financial situation. In addition, Turkey (TRT) withdraws due to rules and jury voting and Poland (TVP) won’t participate this year neither.


Every year the Eurovision Song Contest logo is complemented by a unique graphic identity, which is developed by the host broadcaster.

Discussing this year’s butterfly image and ‘We are one’ slogan, the EBU’s Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, Jon Ola Sand, said:

-This year’s theme reflects that timeless feeling millions of people will experience in May, when Europe comes together to celebrate its diversity.